2022 ALGIM Awards

The 2022 ALGIM Awards are your opportunity to shine amongst your peers. The use of technology and best practices in local government is continually expanding. Many innovative solutions are being designed and projects being implemented which are worth sharing for the benefit of the local government sector.

The awards are open to the following disciplines working in local government:

• ICT (Information and Communication Technology)
• GIS (Geographic Information Systems)
• IRM (Information and Records Management)
• WD (Web and Digital)
• CX (Customer Experience)

The awards recognise excellence in these disciplines and are a great opportunity to share details of your project with colleagues in local government. It helps support the sector to continually improve.

The awards will be presented to the winners at the 2022 ALGIM Awards evening ceremony on Monday, 21 November 2022 at Te Pae Christchurch Convention Centre. 

Congratulations to the finalists for Project of the Year who will be presenting their projects at the conference:


Sabine Melzer, Senior Biosecurity Information Analyst, Auckland Council: Natural Environment Stakeholder Engagement Dynamics 365

Candice McNaught, Community Relationships and Wellbeing Manager, Ruapehu District Council: Pūwhenua ki Ruapehu - Living in Ruapehu study

Jane McLeod, Chief Information Officer, Nelson City Council: Te Parikaranga - a digital communications platform co-designed by Nelson City Council and the eight iwi of Te Tauihu o Te Waka a Māui to streamline engagement process with iwi


Christine Cope, Business Engagement Manager, Northland Regional Council: Cloud SharePoint Online Project – ‘DM Hub’

Jason MacDonald, Digital Services Manager, Dunedin City Council: Dunedin City Council deploys DCC Search to enhance staff experience with simple and easy access to our information

Jacqueline Davidson, Corporate Records and Archives Manager, Auckland Council: Discovering Auckland - a piece at a time

Sabine Melzer, Senior Biosecurity Information Analyst, Auckland Council: Natural Environment Stakeholder Engagement Dynamics 365

Customer Experience

Anita Reedy Holthausen, Director Engagement and Maori Responsiveness Gisborne District Council: Creation of Change - Embedding Our Customer Service Promise

Reece Turner, Customer Experience Manager, Waikato District Council: Customer experience delivers employee experience - personalised account-based experience for online customers that retains their history and preferences

Marion Dowd, Chief Information Officer, Western Bay of Plenty District Council: Customer CRM - Western Bay of Plenty District Council: our story


Kyle Dow, Senior Data Analyst, Christchurch City Council: Combining cross-council GIS layers for the Greater Christchurch Spatial Plan

Anya Duxfield, Geospatial Business Analyst, Northland Regional Council: Northland Natural Hazards Portal

Smart Cities

Michael Healy, Manager Smart Christchurch, Christchurch City Council: Smart Christchurch - creating sustainable innovation at an organisational and city level

Kim Neal, IoT Systems Analyst, Auckland Council: Sustainability through real-time data insights

The Awards

Project of the Year

This award recognises innovative, unique projects from across ICT, GIS, IRM, Web & Digital and CX services that have created significant benefits for their organisations.

This award provides the opportunity for councils to enter and demonstrate the difference their project has made toward the organisation, its customers, and improved service delivery.

Congratulations to our winners for 2022:

GIS - Northland Regional Council

ICT - Ruapehu District Council

IRM - Auckland Council

CX - Gisborne District Council

Team of the Year

This award recognises outstanding teams who provide high-quality ICT, GIS, IRM Web & Digital and CX services through the delivery of the outcomes sought by their organisation.

This award provides the opportunity for teams to enter and demonstrate the difference their team has made to the organisation, its customers and improved service delivery.

Congratulations to winner Tasman District Council

Professional of the Year

These awards recognise ICT, GIS, IRM, Web & Digital, CX Individuals, who are top performers in their disciplines. This individual demonstrates outstanding abilities, enhancing organisations performance and delivery in their discipline.

This individual will provide outstanding professionalism in their role, meet their performance targets, and be an exemplary team player.

Training and Development Award

There is an award in this category for each of the following disciplines: ICT, GIS, IRM Web & Digital and CX. This award is to allow for the training and development of staff working within these disciplines of a local authority. The award aims to recognise individuals who have displayed excellent potential within the appropriate disciplines within Local Government, and to provide the successful recipient with the opportunity to extend their skill set through attending a conference/course of their choice.

The award recognises that people are an important asset in adding value to an organisation and the achievement of its goals. ALGIM is seeking nominations for staff at all levels.

Smart Cities Award

This is a new national Award recognising smart cities in Aotearoa New Zealand. Showcasing the best from local government in a way that truly reflects the diversity of smart cities, towns and regions.

This award is a collaboration between ALGIM and Smart Cities Council Australia New Zealand.

The purpose of this award is to recognise and reward leadership, celebrate best practice and stimulate action to advance smart cities, towns and regions.

Congratulations to winner - Christchurch City Council


Want more detail on what each award covers? We've got you sorted. Check out our award guidelines for all the criteria.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software