Log in


No pictures to show


2021 ALGIM Awards

Congratulations to all the award finalists and winners of the 2021 ALGIM Awards announced at the award dinner 16 June 2022 at the TSB Arena.  The judging panels were impressed with the quality of the projects across the disciplines.

Supreme website award 

Winner: New Plymouth District Council

Runner up: Chatham Islands Council

Best customer experience award

Winner: Ashburton District council

Runner up: Great Lake Taupo District Council

Projects of the year

These award recognises innovative, unique projects that have created significant benefits for their organisation, customers and improved service delivery.

GIS Project of the Year sponsored by Eagle Technology


    • Kapiti Coast District Council
    • Waikato LASS including Waikato Regional Council, Waikato District Council, Hamilton City Council, Thames Coromandel District Council, Waipa District Council and South Waikato District Council
    • Auckland Council
    • Wairoa District Council, Central Hawke's Bay District Council and Otorohanga District Council

Winner: Auckland Council with their Ruru Conservation Project

ICT Project of the Year sponsored by MAGIQ


    • Southern Councils Consortium
    • Clutha District Council
    • Dunedin City Council
    • Waimakariri District Council

Winner: Clutha District Council with their Digidocs Digitalisation Project

IRM Project of the Year sponsored by Information Leadership


    • Waitaki District Council
    • Masterton District Council
    • Kapiti Coast District Council
    • Clutha District Council

Winner: Clutha District Council

Web and Digital Project of the Year sponsored by Monsido


    • Dunedin City Council
    • Napier City Council
    • Auckland Council
    • Tauranga City Council, Western Bay of Plenty Council and Watercare

Winner: Napier City Council with their Pulse of Napier project

Customer Experience Project of the Year sponsored by Civica


    • Clutha District Council
    • Auckland Council
    • Tauranga City Council
    • Wellington City Council

Winner: Wellington City Council with their One Tag - dog re-registration project

Team of the year

Winner: Three waters collaboration team from Tauranga City Council, Western Bay of Plenty District Council and Watercare.

Training and development awards

There are training and development awards for each of the following disciplines: ICT, GIS, IRM Web & Digital and Customer Experience.  The awards aims to recognise individuals who show great potential and helps them extend their skill set with a $2500 fund to attend a conference or course of their choice

These awards recognise that people are an invaluable asset adding value to an organisation, and the achievement of its goals.

The 2021 recipients of these awards were:

ICT - Emmy Saxton, Waimakariri District Council

IRM - Tania Pope, Invercargill City Council

GIS - Hayley-Mae Hartigan, Southland District Council

Web & Digital - Ben Scott, Queenstown Lakes District Council

Customer Experience - Tanicka Mason, Kapiti Coast District Council

Professional of the year

These awards recognise individuals who are top performers in their disciplines. They demonstrate outstanding abilities, enhancing their organisations' performance and delivery in their specialist area. These individuals show outstanding professionalism in their roles, exceed their performance targets, and are an exemplary team player.

The 2021 recipients of these award were:

IRM - Donna Officer, Tauranga City Council

ICT - Russell McCracken, Wairoa District Council

Most improved local government cybersecurity award

Top five:

    • Waipa District Council
    • Far North District Council
    • Wairoa District Council
    • Hastings District Council
    • Hauraki District Council

Winner: Waipa District Council

Want more detail on what each award covers? Check out our award guidelines for all the criteria.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software